August Blocks

For the last week I’ve been trying to get my block commitments finished so I can move on to some UFOs and a couple of baby quilts.

Jeannette is putting together a starburst quilt for our Dream Circle at do.Good Stitches.  The tutorial comes from Film in the Fridge.  It’s a great way to use up some scraps but those points are a killer.  Mine aren’t so perfect.

Melissa sent a beautiful collection of fabric to us in Design Camp 3 and asked for improv triangles.  Coincidentally I got my inspiration for this block from Film in the Fridge also.  I decided a right triangle would be quicker than an isosceles and I wouldn’t need a template.  I wish I had more of the charcoal solid to add to the top.

My newest group to join is the the KC Scrappy Bee.  It’s mainly made up  of our local modern quilt guild members.  Nikki asked for quarter log cabins and provided most of the yummy fabric.  I only needed to add a little from my stash.  It went together so quickly I decided to make two.

I actually finished one other block for a friend who’s putting together a quilt for a breast cancer auction.  It’s appliqued, which isn’t my favorite thing to do, but for a good cause.  She came to pick it up before I had a chance to take a photo.  Hopefully she’ll send a picture of the finished quilt.

Now I can get back to fun quilts for a little boy who’s arriving in October and for another one in December.  I LOVE making baby quilts, don’t you?

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “August Blocks

  1. Those points were a PITA!!!! I’m sorry about that. The good news is, that it doesn’t really show in the finished quilt. :)

Leave a Reply

