QuiltCon in Review, Part 1

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 038

It’s been a whole week since I arrived back from Austin.  I spent this weekend with daughter #2 for Mom’s Weekend so I still feel like I’m in a haze.  But QuiltCon was everything I hoped it would be and more.

The first workshop I took was “Get Your Curve On” with Sherri Lynn Woods.  It was very challenging and should easily have filled two days instead of six hours.  I’m always surprised to see so much variety in design even when given the same instructions.

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 022

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 026        QuiltCon Feb. 2013 027

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 030

I’m not sure where this one of mine will end up but it was fun, and did I mention CHALLENGING?

My second workshop was with Valori Wells.  “Signature Quilts” was more relaxing.  Just wish I had more to show for the time spent.

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 034

These are the fabrics I chose for my project.QuiltCon Feb. 2013 036

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 037

The fabrics cut into 4″ strips.

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 041

I love the wonkiness of these panels, and the colors work well together.  These blocks look big but they are only about 14 inches wide.  I’ll be finishing this quilt soon, I hope.

QuiltCon Feb. 2013 023

We were able to use these cute Janome machines in the Curves class.  I’ve been sewing on my Bernina so long I thought I would have a hard time adjusting to a different and newer machine.  When I found out the local shop was offering an amazing deal on the classroom machines I thought long and hard.  I certainly don’t NEED one, even a small one that would be great to tote around to retreats and sew-in days.  But I couldn’t pass it up.  Included were an extension table, five or six feet, several bobbins AND no sales tax and free shipping.  She came while I was out of town this weekend so I can’t wait to play around with her again.

I’ll post about some of my favorite QuiltCon show quilts in the next day or two.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “QuiltCon in Review, Part 1

  1. fabart2012

    Reblogged this on Southern Oregon Modern Quilt Guild and commented:
    Hi! How exciting to be able to go to the conference!
    I’m just starting up the Southern Oregon Modern Quilt Guild – we’re having our first meeting on Saturday, March 23, at Quiltz, in Ashland, Oregon.

    • That’s so exciting! Best of luck with the new Guild.

      • fabart2012

        Hello!

        Thanks for the good wishes!!

        I’m still learning about setting up this website, and hoping that our first meeting of the Southern Oregon Modern Quilt Guild is a smash hit.

        Hopefully after our meeting we’ll have some good media images to submit, but for right now, I was so thankful (and thank you!) for the photo from you.

        Best regards!

        Claudia

Leave a Reply

