Reproduction Mania

Not surprising that I’m working on several projects at once.  I’m binding the quilt pictured in my header, but afraid the movie I’m watching, Milk, will be finished before I am.  I also need to quilt both daughters’ graduation quilts.  Although that requires that I take on the monster in my basement, my long-arm and quilting frame.  They’ve been lurking there since October.  I think I can, I think I can…

I’ve also been collecting 1930s reproduction prints for a few years and decided to finally do something with them to honor my mother who grew up during that difficult period.  I wanted a pattern fairly simple, not too large, and mostly true  to that time period.  I finally found a pinwheel design on the Internet through the Fat Quarter Shop.  Since I was so pleased with the first, and because I had quite a bit more fabric, I started another one.  Now it seems I can’t stop.  With two leftover blocks I’m making potholders for our Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild June challenge.  I’ve ordered more fabric and am now trying a similar pattern called “State Fair” from Schnibbles.  I keep telling myself that I’ll practice the quilting with these.  I hope I know some friends,  or daughters of friends more likely, having babies soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

