Private Life

I finished Jane Smiley’s book several weeks ago but I decided I needed some time to digest it before commenting.  I loved Good Faith and Ten Thousand Acres but this one left me kind of cold.  At least half the book was set outside San Francisco where we were flying for our vacation this year.  So that was interesting to read about as well as the historical events such as the 1906 earthquake and the Japanese internments during World War II.  I think the message is that marriages are all different.  Most are not fairy tales or huge disasters but somewhere along the spectrum.  Smiley writes beautifully but I wouldn’t recommend this novel if you’re wanting a light read with a satisfying ending.

Rating:  **

Leave a comment

Filed under Readings

Leave a Reply

