The Happiness Project

Right now I’m reading this inspiring book by Gretchen Rubin, who just happens to be from Kansas City.  She decided to spend a year trying to raise her happiness barometer systematically.  Kind of like Eat Pray Love for people with responsibilities.  Anyway, I’m finding all kinds of  excuses research to support my love of sewing, and quilting in particular.  March was Be Serious About Play month.  Fun is any activity “that’s very satisfying, has no economic significance, doesn’t create social harm, and doesn’t necessarily lead to praise or recognition.  (Yea, I’m having fun!) People who have fun are twenty times as likely to feel happy.”

July’s focus was Buy Some Happiness.  Sounds like my kind of month!  “Any type of gain, whether material (the authors choice of word here, not mine) or not, creates at least a momentary atmosphere of growth.”  Therefore modest splurges contribute to happiness.  And what’s more modest than a fat quarter?  Ms. Rubin identifies herself as a satisficer as opposed to a maximizers.  (I’m pretty sure these terms come from The Paradox of Choice, by Barry Schwartz.) Even against her inclinations, she purchased the bound collection of the Oz books and gets a rush of joy whenever she sees them.  My stash is like that for me.

I’m just on August but looking ahead I see exciting possibilities for September: Imitate a Spiritual Master, Pursue a Passions, Forget About Results, and Master a New Technology.  Excuse me while I go to try to find the best deal on EQ 7.

Here’s something else that never fails to make me happy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Readings

Leave a Reply

