Spiderweb Tree Skirt

I started with the blocks for this way back this summer.  It’s a good thing because I would never have finished in time for Christmas otherwise.   The pattern is from Stitched in Color’s tutorial and the fabric is Fa La La La La by French General for Moda with Essex linen in natural.  Although I consider myself a “modern” sewist, I do love the vintage look of these colors and textures.  One problem I had is with the opening; it’s much too big.  I added a band but it wasn’t enough to cover the tree stand.

I chose to use covered buttons and loop closures instead of ties to give it a more finished look.  It’s too bad the skirt is all covered up with gifts already.  Such a terrible problem, I know!  This seems so huge while I was sewing the top and lining together but it’s actually the perfect size.  See?

Sorry it’s kinda blurry.   I  played around with the light balance on my camera but this was the best I could do!

6 Comments

Filed under Projects

6 responses to “Spiderweb Tree Skirt

  1. Ooh la la to Fa La La! Seriously, I like the muted colors of French General as well and sadly, the bright, saturated modern fabric colors don’t really fit into my decor. Essex linen is yummy too…I just finished up a knitting needle case with Essex linen in aqua and I love, love, love it.

    I love your spider web tree skirt, even if the picture is a bit blurry! 😉

    Wishing you and your family a very, Merry Christmas!

  2. You are so sweet! I’d love to get back into some knitting once the holidays are over.
    Have a wonderful Christmas with your family, Mary Anne!

  3. So lovely to see one of these made and being used! The way you finished it with a band and buttons looks really sharp. Well done!

  4. This turned out so pretty! I love French General too and the linen is beautiful with it.

    Have a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

