Alaskan Gold

Well, maybe not gold exactly.  But we did find out on our cruise that everything in Alaska costs more, including fabric and patterns.

Silver Thimble Quilt Shop was just a hop, skip, and a jump from our port in Ketchikan.  The green fat quarter is Basic Grey’s grunge in succulent and the half yard grey print is Cobblestone from Dear Stella.  They also had a good selection of perle cotton so I picked up a spool which I forgot to set in the photo.

While in Ketchikan, Juneau, and Skagway I couldn’t help but notice the amazing Tlingit art.  It’s very stylized and modern, I think.  While I couldn’t exactly see a painting or sculpture in our fairly traditional house, I knew I could think of a way to work a quilt out of it.  I picked up two yards of Debi Hron for Timeless Treasures more neutral print at Rushin’ Tailors. It is filled with batiks and all things Alaskan including beautiful yarns and needlework.   Since we had visited Mendenhall Glacier a couple of days earlier, this pattern ended up in my basket, as well.

But after looking through the directions, it’s definitely going to be awhile before I take on those curves and points.

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

