I Spy 1 and I Spy 2

If you don’t know me well you may not have learned that I’m a big Dr. Seuss fan.  Back in high school I did an oral report on him when others in my class were choosing John Glenn and Eleanor Roosevelt.  I taught my sister to read using Green Eggs and Ham.  So I kept thinking of Thing 1 and Thing 2 from The Cat in the Hat as I made these two lap quilts.

 

 

 

 
Over a year ago I participated in a novelty charm swap with Carla who blogs at Lollyquiltz.  She had made a darling I Spy quilt in May and I thought it was a great idea.  See her tutorial here.  However,  I really wanted to make a Garden Fence quilt I had been fascinated with from Hyacinth Quilt Designs.  See that tutorial here.  So I combined the two ideas which required me to change the measurements some since my charms were 5″ instead of 4 1/2″ as instructed.

I quilted the center blocks in this swirl design.

The rest I quilted with meandering loops.

The backing is a primary stripe fabric from Connecting Threads.

One of these is going to a little boy who’s to be born in a couple of weeks.  I’ll probably donate the other one but I’m not sure where.  Any suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

