Learning From a Pro

It took nearly three years but our guild was finally able to bring Denyse Schmidt to Kansas City.  I heard from Shea, our president, that she was brought up at the very first planning meeting for the KCMQG.

photo by Melissa Lytle

Last Thursday evening she spoke to members and guest about her creative journey as well as her inspirations.  Not surprisingly, she showed lots of pictures of amazing quilts.  I was able to get my copy of Modern Quilts, Traditional Inspiration autographed.  Whoop, whoop!

Friday and Saturday she offered workshops on Improvisational Patchwork, which was amazing!  Most of us shared that we want to get away from commercial patterns and I know I took a huge step in that direction.

photo by Shea Henderson

It was a lot of fun getting to know some of the other guild members better.  I kept thinking how lucky I am to have found this group.  There are so few people in my day-to-day life that “get” the appeal of quilting, let alone MODERN quilting.

photo by Shea Henderson

Here are my nearly completed blocks.  They may not look like much but that is about an hour and a half of uninterrupted work.  I’ll need to play around with this before I decide on the finished product.

photo by Shea Henderson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been coveting Denyse’s (yes, we’re on a first name basis now.) new fabric line Chicopee for awhile now but I have so many WIPs I’ve been able to resist.  She had some charm packs and jelly rolls for sale at the lecture but I was strong.  However when they showed up Friday too I caved quickly.  There’s only so much self-deprivation I can take, especially when it comes to fabric.

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “Learning From a Pro

  1. looks like a blast! I couldn’t have resisted the fabric a second time either.

Leave a Reply

