This ‘n’ That

I never make New Year’s resolutions.  But back in January I decided to anyway.  My UFOs were multiplying rapidly and I was frustrated with my inability (or unwillingness) to complete anything.  “That new charm pack/jelly roll/cute pattern looks so much more fun than what I’m doing now!”

So I told myself I would TRY to complete one project a month.   Twelve measly projects.  That’s totally doable, right?

Jump ahead 11 months.  It’s now late November with eight finished.  I have two baby quilt tops almost done but they are not coming together as easily as I’d hoped. I’m praying that they will be simple to quilt.  I can still do this.

 

 

Problem is I still have other things I “have” to do:  three bee blocks are most important.  Two are finished but the improv one has me stumped!  I haven’t come up with a clear idea of what I want to do and the inspiration fabrics aren’t really helping much.

 

 

I also have an apron and a tote for daughter #2 laying around.  The apron will take an hour tops, and I hope the tote won’t be as time-consuming as the one I made last year for my older daughter.  It is cute and she uses it a lot, but I won’t make that one again.  Still, I’m not sure an apron and a tote count toward the spirit of the resolution. Maybe I can justify the bag but not the apron.

For two years I’ve sat on this cute Mary Engelbreit fabric.  It’s way out of stock so I’m stuck with what little I have.  I think I finally found inspiration for a friendship block from Missouri Star Quilt Company.  I love their tutorials!  Coincidentally, they used the exact same ME charm and turnover pack I have.  I should be able to get two lap quilts out of this.  Then I’ll have my twelve projects. 

BUT I also have these bee blocks from my months in the NuBees group last year.  I have 20 Christmas themed blocks screaming to be put together.  This would be fast, maybe.  But I don’t want to just sew the blocks together.  Sampler quilts looks best when there’s something that unifies them.  Since these were made by twenty different people using their own fabrics, they have little in common.  The reds and greens range from bright to subdued and some backgrounds are white with others more cream colored .  So no quick plan there. 

On top of all this I took a photography class on Sunday with the ever-talented Lauren of Aunt June fame.  I learned a ton about my new Canon Rebel but applying that new knowledge takes time away from sewing.

Speaking of which…..I need to get back to the machine NOW if I have any hope of reaching my goal.  Hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving!

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “This ‘n’ That

  1. Amy

    I am so sorry that the fabric/design request gave you such trouble! If its any solace, yours turned out so cute & its exactly the type of thing I envisioned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

