Goodbye 2012

Our family had a lot going on in 2012, not all of it bad but too much of it was so I’m not sad to see it end.  I didn’t meet my yearly quilting goal either but I came pretty darn close.  This Perfect Quilted Tote for daughter #2 was finished in time for Christmas.  It came from an Elizabeth Hartman pattern and can be found here. This is the tall tote and I’m definitely making the smaller one for myself soon.  Directions were easy to follow and very clear.

Erica's tote 001

I used Tonya Ricucci’s book Word Play Quilts for the monogram.   Because of the wonkiness, mistakes are nearly impossible.  A very good thing.  The main flowered prints are from the Spellbound Collection for Art Gallery Fabrics that I won at our KCMQG retreat last spring.  The dark blue swirly is Chloe by Jennifer Young for Benartex.  The purply pink dots came from Connecting Threads and the green polka dots are Ta Dot by Michael Miller.  Top and bottom bands and straps are Kona Cotton in Windsor.  The light blue solid is another Kona, maybe robin’s egg, I’m not sure.

Erica's tote 002

The back is very cute, too.  What made this so much fun to sew is the quilt-as-you-go technique.  I love it for small projects like this though I can’t image doing a bed-sized quilt this way.  I know some people have had great success so maybe it’s not so bad.

Erica's tote 003

The lining is neatly finished with one zipped pocked and one open pocket.  I used a magnetic snap for the first time and it was easy peasy.  I’m pretty sure the bag will get lots of use and feel confident it will hold up for a long time as long as she doesn’t try carrying a laptop and a couple of textbooks around in it.

Erica's tote 004

Our backyard is the last photo I shot in 2012.   You can’t really tell it’s snowing, but there were lovely, fat flakes coming down most of the day.  Lucky for us the temperature was high enough it didn’t stick much on the streets.  I hope your 2013 is as beautiful and peaceful as this scene and that you have a warm cat on your lap while reading this.  Finn and a big mug of coffee make this a perfect way to start the new year!Finn 001

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

