Fraternal Twin Quilts

You know how sometimes something really awesome happens but then there’s a flip side which isn’t so awesome?  After much time, effort, worry, not to mention $$$, my nail tech is expecting twins in March.  First time mommy at 41!   These little boys will be sooooo loved especially after all they have been through to get them.  I’m thrilled for her and her husband.  My selfish self is sad because after fifteen years I have to find a new manicurist.  We share similar tastes in books and movies so I looked forward to visiting with her every two or three weeks.  I’ll miss that.

Angela's twin quilts 002              Angela's twin quilts 001

I received most of the rainbow charms in a swap with fellow KCMQG member Crafty Tammie a year or so ago.  I knew I wanted to make a chevron quilt from the beginning but I had to experiment with the half-square triangles to come up with the second quilt.

Angela's twin quilts 003         Angela's twin quilts 004

The quilting is very simple and I love the jungle themed backing.  I’d seen this fabric by Tim and Beck for Moda online but I found it at my local quilt shop when I stopped by for something else.  The binding is from Joann’s and left over from a previous project.

These are the last baby quilts I have to make for awhile.  I love sewing them but after finishing five since last May I’m ready to move on to some grown-up projects.  Stay tuned……

QuiltCon countdown: 19 days

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “Fraternal Twin Quilts

  1. Jan

    I love these quilts! They have been ‘favorited’ by several folks in my Flikr stream of KCMQG show and tell quilts, too. I love that they are so bright and gender-neutral!

Leave a Reply

