A Trip Down Madrona Road

Our KC Modern Quilt Guild joined the parent MQG to participate in the winter challenge.  We were each given a fat eighth of these yummy fabrics.

January 13 Design Camp fabric 001

I tried my best to avoid getting sucked in since there were so many other projects needing to be done by Christmas.  But once I saw these in person, I was hooked.  The requirements were to make a quilt, at least 18″ X 18″ and modernize a traditional quilt block.  My concession to time was to keep it small and I did get finished a whole week before the reveal.

Madrona Road Challenge Feb. 2013 001  I used a sawtooth star with improv centers.  I was determined to NOT buy any more fabric so I used mostly scraps from the half square triangles.  The yellow background is Cotton Couture in straw and it was so soft to work with!

Madrona Road Challenge Feb. 2013 002

The quilting is my favorite part.  I used a swirl for the center and sewed wavy lines out from it in a starburst pattern.  The idea came from Angela Walters’ first book Free Motion Quilting.

Madrona Road Challenge Feb. 2013 003At our spring retreat last March we each received a KCMQG label.  Perfect!

If you’d like to see some of the other AMAZING projects from this challenge click here.  They are worth a look.

Countdown to QuiltCon: 7 days

1 Comment

Filed under Projects

One response to “A Trip Down Madrona Road

  1. Jan

    I think the quilting was just perfect for this quilt! It is really lovely!

Leave a Reply

