Only Time Will Tell

I don’t think I know any reader friends who didn’t read Kane and Abel by Jeffrey Archer back in the ’80s.  I still have a soft spot for epic family sagas within historical fiction.  I haven’t even finished this book but I already know it will be one of this year’s favorites.

     There are several similarities to Kane and Abel, most notably being the intertwined lives of an upper crust British family and a working class one.  I can’t help but compare this also to Ken Follett’s Fall of Giants.  While not as dependent on historical events, Only Time Will Tell is a quick, enjoyable read so far.  What makes it even better is that it is the first in the Clifton Chronicles series.  It helps to know now that the ending will leave me hanging and wanting more.  I hope Mr. Archer doesn’t make me wait two years for the second installment, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Readings

Leave a comment